Concert Notes:

Holiday Concert at First Congregational Church, Norwood, December 12, 3:00 pm

The Parkway Concert Orchestra will present its annual Holiday Pops Concert on Sunday, December 12th at 3 p.m. at the First Congregational Church, 100 Winter Street, Norwood. Lawrence Isaacson conducts the 50 piece non-profit orchestra in classical and pops-style selections for the entire family, including Handel’s Hallelujah Chorus from “The Messiah”, An American in Paris Suite by Gershwin, “Let it Snow, Let it Snow” and other holiday favorites. In addition, John Hamilton, the minister of the First Congregational Church, will narrate “Twas the Night Before Christmas”.

This concert is sponsored by May Funeral Home. The program is supported in part by a grant from the Norwood Cultural Council, a local agency which is supported by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency.

Donation is $10; $8 for seniors and $5 for children under 12 years. For ticket reservations, please call 781-762-0288.

The Program:

Hallelujah Chorus from “The Messiah”Handel/Isaac
An American in Paris SuiteGershwin/Whitney
In the Bleak MidwinterHolst/Smith/McCashin
’Twas the Night Before ChristmasDarby/Simeone
Russian Sailors DanceGliere/Isaac
Chanukah Festival OvertureWernick
Let it Snow, Let it SnowStyne/Cerulli
Festival of Alfred Burt CarolsBurt/Ades
Winter WonderlandBernard/Custer
Have Yourself a Merry Little Christmasarr. Cerulli
A Christmas FestivalLeroy Anderson

Sponsors of the Norwood Holiday Concert

Shown (left to right): Candace Colbert (oboe and orchestra librarian), Leslie Powers (violin and orchestra librarian and treasurer), Brad Powers (violin), sponsor Robert Folsom, William Scherban (clarinet and orchestra assistant treasurer) and conductor Lawrence Isaacson.

Thanks to Susan Silverman for the photography.

close window