Parkway Concert Orchestra performs on March 6 in Dedham

“The American Stage”

Read our guest artist’s bio here.

Parkway Concert Orchestra presents “The American Stage” on March 6 in Dedham

The Dedham Music Association presents the Parkway Concert Orchestra in a concert of music of the American stage on Sunday, March 6 at 3 p.m. at Saint Susanna Parish, 262 Needham Street, Dedham.

Music Director and Conductor Matthew Fritz has chosen a lively program including music from The Producers, The Phantom of the Opera and Porgy and Bess; the first movement from Dvořák's New World Symphony; and selections by Cole Porter. The program features violinist Sasha Callahan and cellist Leo Eguchi in the third movement of the Brahms Double Concerto in A Minor. The concert also features the world concert premiere of excerpts from Georg Henschel's 1884 comedy, A Sea-Change.

This concert is sponsored by Dedham Savings and is supported in part by a grant from the Dedham Cultural Council, a local agency which is supported by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency. Scores and parts from Henschel's autograph score to A Sea-Change were created thanks to a generous grant from the Harvard Musical Association.

Donation is $10; $8 for seniors and $5 for children under 12 years old. For ticket reservations please call 781-461-1823.

The Program:

On Stage with Cole Porter Cole Porter, arr. John Warrington
A Sea-Change (world concert premiere) *
   A Train of the Table Stewards
Georg Henschel
Brian Bell, Assistant Conductor
Selections from Porgy and Bess George Gershwin,
arr. Chuck Sayre
Double Concerto in A Minor, Op. 102
   III. Vivace non troppo
Johannes Brahms
Sasha Callahan, violin
Leo Eguchi, cello
The Producers Mel Brooks,
arr. Ted Ricketts
Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, Op. 95 “New World”
   I. Adagio – Allegro molto
Antonín Dvořák
Selections from The Phantom of the Opera Andrew Lloyd Webber,
arr. Calvin Custer
* Scores and parts from Henschel's autograph score to A Sea-Change were created thanks to a generous grant from the Harvard Musical Association.

Sasha Callahan and Leo Eguchi

Jody Mulcahy portraitSince 2001, violinist Sasha Callahan and cellist Leo Eguchi have performed extensively across North America together - from solo and chamber recitals to large ensemble works. As founding members of both the Lunaire String Quartet and the Kalistos Chamber Orchestra, they gave many concerts and broadcasts in addition to teaching residencies and master classes. Currently, Sasha and Leo can be heard performing with the Boston Pops Esplanade Orchestra, Boston Modern Orchestra Project, the Portland Symphony, Rhode Island Philharmonic, Boston Lyric Opera, Camerata New England, and New Hampshire Music Festival Orchestras.

A native of Michigan, Leo holds Bachelor’s degrees with honors in both Physics and Music from the University of Michigan, and a Masters degree from Boston University. His primary teachers were George Neikrug, Anthony Elliott, Tanya Carey, Eva Ell and Louis Potter Jr.

Originally from Portland, OR, Sasha received her BA in Violin Performance from Rice University and her MM from Boston University. Her principal teachers include Lucia Lin, Sergiu Luca, Denes Zsigmondy, and Carol Sindell.

Sasha and Leo married in 2007 and currently reside in Boston, MA. Their non-musical interests include good food and drink, traveling, enjoying the outdoors, and their two cats, Katya and Max.

close window