Concert Notes:

Westwood Spring Concert, March 21, 3:00 pm

Parkway Concert Orchestra's Westwood Spring Concert will be held on Sunday, March 21st at 3 p.m. in the sanctuary of the Islington Community Church, 288 Washington Street, Westwood. This concert is presented for the public by the Islington Community Church, the long-time rehearsal home of the Parkway Concert Orchestra.

Music Director and Conductor Lawrence Isaacson has chosen a program including Dvorak's Slavonic Dance No. 8, the first movement of Schubert's "Unfinished Symphony" as well as popular favorites such as "West Side Story" and the Symphonic Suite from the movie "Lord of the Rings". In keeping with the orchestra's policy to encourage young musicians, the concert will feature Westwood School's String Ensemble, directed by Susan Kenney. The students will join the Parkway Concert Orchestra for "Finlandia" by Sibelius.

Westwood members of the orchestra include Kerry Vogelgesang and Kim White, violin, Joseph Hedal & Edward Marcantonio, cello, Mark Rogers tenor sax, Vicki Beggs, trombone and June Cassidy, bassoon. Donation is $6 adults, $5 seniors and $2 children under 12. Includes light refreshments following the concert. For further information, please call 781-329-4772.

The Program:

Radetsky March Johann Strauss, Sr. / arranged by Merle Isaac
Symphony no. 8 "Unfinished",
Allegro Moderato
Franz Schubert
Allegro AppassionatoCamille Saint-Saens
Jenny Nelson, soloist
Slavonic Dance no. 8Antonin Dvorak / arranged by George Szell
FinlandiaJean Sibelius / edited by William Ryden
with Westwood High School string players, directed by Susan Kenney
The ProducersMel Brooks, arranged by Ted Ricketts
Lord of the Rings (Symphonic Suite)Howard Shore / arranged by John Whitney
West Side StoryLeonard Bernstein / arranged by Jack Mason

close window