Concert Notes:

Holiday Pops Concert in Norwood on December 14

The Parkway Concert Orchestra will present its annual Holiday Pops Concert on Sunday, December 14th at 3 p.m. at the First Congregational Church, 100 Winter Street, Norwood. Lawrence Isaacson conducts the 50 piece non-profit orchestra in classical and pops-style selections for the entire family, including Fidelio Overture, Carol of the Bells, Sleigh Ride and other holiday favorites. Guest vocal soloists Jacque Wilson and Robyn Garcia will be featured in the Act 1 Opening from Hansel and Gretel. Two of the orchestra's French horn players, Adele van den Bosch and Mark Louttit, will be soloists in the Vivaldi concerto for 2 horns in F major.

This concert is sponsored by May Funeral Home. The program is supported in part by a grant from the Norwood Cultural Council, a local agency which is supported by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, a state agency.

Donation is $8; $6 for seniors and $4 for children under 12 years. Tickets will be available at the door. For further information, please call 781-769-1759 or 781-769-7832.

Norwood concert

The Program
Overture to FidelioBeethoven
Concerto for 2 horns in F majorAntonio Vivaldi, arr. M. Fife
(Adele van den Bosch and Mark Louttit, horn soloists) Allegro
Allegro non molto
Intermezzo from Cavalleria RusticanaMascagni
Hansel and Gretel, Act 1 opening
Robyn Garcia, Soprano
Jacque Wilson, Mezzo–Soprano
Carmen Suite No. 1
5. Les Toreadores
Georges Bizet
A Christmas FestivalLeroy Anderson
Festival of Lightsarr. Emile Schillio
Carol of the BellsLeontovich/Wilhousky
Santa Dear
Jacque Wilson, soloist
arr. Wendel
Christmas Memoriesarr. Chase
Sleigh RideL. Anderson

close window