Parkway Concert Orchestra presents Sounds of the Symphony Orchestra on March 8, 2020 in West Roxbury

Parkway Concert Orchestra continues its 75th anniversary season with 'Sounds of the Symphony Orchestra' on Sunday, March 8 at 3:00 p.m. at Holy Name Parish Upper Church, 1689 Centre Street, West Roxbury. Music Director Thomas Kociela will conduct a lively program including the first movement of Schubert's Symphony in C major, selections from Elgar's Enigma Variations, music from 'Hamilton' and 'The Sound of Music' and the finale from Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 4. The program will feature Moises Carrasco in Giovanni Bottesini’s Double Bass Concerto No. 2 in B minor.

To enhance your concert experience, the performance features a pre-concert talk (from 2:35 to 2:50) with Resident Conductor Brian Bell.

This concert is presented by Holy Name Enrichment Program and is sponsored by Vogt Realty Group in memory of Gene and Ann Vogt. During intermission, the audience will have a chance to meet and learn about the orchestra instruments at an instrument petting zoo. Concert admission is free. Doors will open at 2:30 p.m. For more information, please call 617-792-4277 or visit us on Facebook at

The Program:

  • Franz Schubert, Arr.: Vernon Leidig and Lennie Niehaus
  • Symphony in C major, D. 944 “Great”
  • I. Andante; Allegro ma non troppo
  • Edvard Grieg
  • Peer Gynt Suite No. 1
  • 3. Anitra’s Dance
  • Giovanni Bottesini
  • Double Bass Concerto No. 2 in B minor
  • Allegro — Andante — Allegro
  • Moises Carrasco, double bass
  • Edward Elgar
  • Enigma Variations (Variations on an Original Theme)
  • Theme - Andante
    I. C.A.E - L’istesso tempo
    III. R.B.T Allegretto
    IV. W.M.B - Allegro di molto


  • Lin-Manuel Miranda, Arr.: Jerry Brubaker
  • Suite from Hamilton
  • You’ll Be Back — Helpless — My Shot — Dear Theodosia — It’s Quiet Uptown — One Last Time
  • Richard Rodgers, Arr.: Robert Russell Bennett
  • The Sound of Music: Selections
  • The Sound of Music — How Can Love Survive — The Lonely Goatherd — My Favorite Things Sixteen Going on Seventeen — Do-Ré-Mi — Edelweiss — An Ordinary Couple - No Way to Stop It — Maria — Climb Ev’ry Mountain
  • Piotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
  • Symphony No. 4 in f minor, Opus 36
  • IV. Finale: Allegro con fuoco

Guest Artist Moises Carrasco, Double Bass

Moises Carrasco portraitMoises Carrasco is currently pursuing a Graduate Diploma in Double Bass Performance at New England Conservatory of Music, under the tutelage of Thomas Van Dyck of the Boston Symphony Orchestra. Moises holds a Bachelor of Music degree in Double Bass Performance from New England Conservatory of Music, where he studied with Donald Palma. In addition to several New England Conservatory groups, Moises is Principal Bass of Symphony by the Sea, and also frequently performs with Marsh Chapel Collegium.

Moises is originally from Haverhill, MA, and graduated from the Interlochen Arts Academy in Michigan. His first solo was at age 9 in the Capuzzi Double Bass Concerto with the Merrimack Valley Philharmonic Orchestra.